Saturday, 19 August 2017

The B-Side: Elsa Dorfman's Portrait Photography Review

The B-Side, in no way shape or form, is Errol Morris's best work. In fact, it may be one of his weakest, which isn't saying much mainly because his wide filmography of documentary and film has been mainly great, or at the least satisfactory. From The Thin Blue Line to A Brief History of Time, his work is quite expansive in variety. This variety can be seen in The B-Side. The B-Side is pretty much a standard one hour and sixteen minute discussion with one of america's most famed photographers. It's interesting, and at times thought provoking to see Elsa's craftsmanship at play. The problem with the B-Side, is that there's nothing all the inventive about it. For example, in The Thin Blue Line, Errol created several different brand new inventive concepts to present his subject. In this, it just feels visually and tonally redundant. However, it's technicalities are well done. The cinematography is nicely polished, and the original score is one of the best I've heard all year. The B-Side is just a standard, yet delightful documentary.



Rating: 6.8/10
Image result

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

The Little Hours Review

The Little Hours is one of the rare exceptions when it comes to crude comedies. The Little Hours is a big delight. It's sense of humor is always top notch, from hilarious social satire, to random odd childish humor. The performances from all members of the cast, were all perfectly chosen for there respective parts. Aubrey Plaza plays a snarky nymphomaniac, Kate Micucci plays a shy yet jealous nun who enjoys spying on her peers, and John C Riley plays a pastor/priest who is incapable of keeping his convent afloat. Even though the script feels of bit rushed, and the dialogue doesn't resemble at all old English dialect, the overall directing and tone of the film makes it a good time, due to it's musical score, production design, costumes, and performances. Overall, this is a fun time, if your into intelligent yet raunchy comedies.




Rating: 7.3/10

Monday, 3 July 2017

Despicable Me 3 Review

Well what do you know, we have another trash film coming our way. This piece of corporate production serves nothing more or less then to merchandise the living shit out of it's franchise. There's nothing new or inventive in Despicable Me 3. Just cringe worthy dialogue, painful jokes, and a plot which doesn't make coercive sense. It's a film in which it should be trashed and looked down upon on how not to make a kids film. At least with Captain Underpants, the overall arching themes stayed with it's fresh brand of inventive humor. Here, it's just the worst bits of the Despicable Me franchise, stretched to an unnecessary 90 Minutes. Don't even bother with this one, unless your heavily intoxicated like the couple who sat beside me during the film.



Rating:
4/10

Frantz Review

Frantz is most likely the most over rated film of the year so far. It's a convoluted mess, in which it takes it's most redeeming attributes, and throws them into a bon fire when it ends. The Black and White to Color transfer was unnecessary and didn't serve much of a purpose to the film. The romantic intrigue of the film deeply lacked. The film wasn't mysterious nor clever then it thought it was. Not to mention, the elongated plot, in which more then an hour could have been cut. In fact, only the first part up to when the big secret was revealed could of been cut, and may have served better as an average short film. Instead, we got a painfully crappy film. I highly urge people to not see it.


Rating:
4.8/10


From the Land of the Moon Review

From the Land of the Moon was quite a surprise. Because of the negative reception from Cannes, one year ago, I was worried for this French production. Marion Cotillard is one of my favorite actors, and it would be a shame for her talent to go to waste. Thankfully, From the Land of the Moon is on the border of decent to good. It's a solid somber effort at a fictional period romance, and works for the most part. Although both the plot and characters are quite cliché filled, there's enough effort and style for the film to stand on it's own. There's nothing harmful nor new being presented here. It's just a simple quaint drama, with some expert cinematography and musical score, which will may or may not stay with you.



Rating:
6.6/10

Sunday, 2 July 2017

The Big Sick Review

Personally, I'm not the biggest fan when it comes to Romance films. Usually, at least the ones that don't take any sort of artistic risks, feel generic and forced when it comes to the romantic leads chemistry. However, there are some exceptions. For example, the 2011 film Ruby Sparks uses genre cliches and turns them over  to create a unique look at gender roles in a relationship. Same can go towards Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom, but with it's main focus on romantic relationship's of today's youth. With that said, I happy to announce that The Big Sick is one of those great romance features. Specifically, this is due to the terrific script, in which the audience and my self were both emotionally invested and laughing all the way. This, by far, is the most humorous film of 2017. Admittedly, the film does get a bit sappy near the end, and there isn't anything all the visually nor technically interesting in the direction of the film. But, with it's great script, The Big Sick is truly a film for the ages.


Rating:
8/10

Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie Review

Similar to my thoughts on another recent film, Kong Skull Island, I thought Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie is one of the most self aware children's films of all time. The way how writers Nicholas Stoller and David Soren manipulates the original childish source material into a mixture of both juvenile fun and hilarious hi jinks, makes it one of the most refreshing films made by Dreamworks since How to Train Your Dragon. Several jokes and plot beats happen during the run time, but what separates those moments to several other pieces of generic crap, is how "self-aware" the plot is. It makes jokes and references to the original source material, films, censorship, and more, while still retaining a charming price. Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie is truly something surprising. I thought this was going to be something annoying and abysmal at the most. Instead, I got a hilarious route of fun, in which I smiled the whole way through. 



Rating:
7.3/10